Sticky, fudgy, flour and nut free (so gluten free) brownies!

I must say, I am so impressed with these brownies. My grandma is gluten intolerant and this Christmas I don’t want her missing out on a thing, especially not my favourite cake, the dark chocolate brownie. So there I was looking up gluten free brownie recipes. I didn’t have any gluten free flour so most of them were off the list, but just a few were completely flourless. I found this wonderful website:http://princessmisia.com/blog/?p=986

I was very sceptical looking at the recipe, how can you get a great brownie from a recipe of just butter, chocolate, sugar and eggs? I couldn’t see a way for it to bond together without flour or at least ground almonds. I was expecting the worst to be honest, but it worked! I made the recipe, put the mixture in the oven still doubtful, but it came out with a chewy, slightly crunchy top and a soft, fudge-like centre. I was so pleasantly surprised and it has turned out to be one of the best brownie recipes I have made to date. They are so simple too, I sprinkled mine with fudge chunks just before coming out of the oven.

Ingredients

350 gram pure chocolate

225 gram butter

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

200 gram sugar (I made mine with half light brown sugar because I ran out if caster, I think it worked better because it added chewyness)

3 eggs, slightly beaten

Method

Preheat the oven to 180C. Line a square tin (24cmx24cm) with baking paper.

Put the chocolate and butter in a small pan, place it over a bigger pan of simmering water (au bain marie) and allow to melt.

Remove the melted chocolate and let it cool off for 5min. Stir in the sugar. Add eggs and vanilla extract. Pour the mixture in the prepared tin. Place in the oven and bake for 25-30 minutes (when you take it out the top should be firm while the inside should stay soft).!

20111227-001734.jpg

Published by

marthacollison

19year old A level student, currently studying and baking in Ascot.

One thought on “Sticky, fudgy, flour and nut free (so gluten free) brownies!”

Leave a Reply

